Food Inc.

If you haven’t seen this documentary, watch it!  I watched it this week after many recommendations from friends. It reiterates why I feel it is so important to buy fresh, local, in-season produce from trusted farmers. I don’t want to give it all away, because I want you to watch it for yourselves, so I will just throw out a few of my favorite quotes that I remember.

“The way we eat has changed more in the last 50 years than in the last 10,000.”

“The irony is the average consumer does not feel very powerful.  They think that they are just the recipients of whatever the industry has put out for them to consume.  Trust me, it’s the exact opposite.  Every time we run an item over the grocery store scanner we are voting – local or not, organic or not…”

“People have got to start DEMANDING good, wholesome food, and we will deliver.”

“The battle against the tobacco industry is the perfect model of how an industry’s irresponsible behavior can be changed.”

“To eat well in this country costs more than eating bad. It takes more money, and some people just don’t have it. That’s one of the reasons we need changes at the policy level, so that the carrots are a better deal than the chips.”

Go HERE to see 10 simple things you can do to change our food system!

5 thoughts on “Food Inc.

  1. Rustin says:

    Loved it! Amazing production quality with a very solid, simple argument. Made me change the way I make food choices.

  2. Kayla says:

    I felt like during the entire movie I had my mouth open! I new it was bad but to watch it was such an eye opener. My family is worth the extra money to buy organic and locally grown food.

Leave a Reply

