My Story

We started a “Biggest Loser” competition last night at our church.  There were so many people that came ready to change their lives.  There was SO much excitement, and that excitement is contagious!  One of the people asked me if I was leading this because had lost a lot of weight. I had to tell them no. I don’t have a weight loss story, but I do have a story.

HetherWhen I was in high school, I lived on Mt. Dew and candy. And I don’t just mean a couple of Mt. Dews a day…more like a couple 2-liters a day! And blow pops and reeses cups and chips…When I got married right out of high school, I tried to start eating better, but I just kept drinking Mt. Dew.  So much Mt. Dew that I literally NEVER drank water!  My dental bills were sky high, and I was always tired, and I got colds all the time.  Then I had my first child. My habits continued, only adding red bull to keep up with a kid. Even after my second child, I still continued in the same way. I let my kids buy lunch at school every day and frequently drove through fast food for them.

My kids started having trouble in school.  My daughter could not get her work done on time. My son was having behavioral problems.  I knew that I didn’t want to medicate them, so I started researching natural ways to help them.  Everything I found said that all of our “medical” problems were due to our diets.  I decided that mine and my family’s health was more important than my addiction to Mt Dew and sweets.

I kicked the Mt. Dew habit!  I switched to fresh, organic foods, and started packing my kids lunches every day.  Literally within a week of doing this, my son’s teacher called me. She said that she didn’t know what I was doing, but to keep doing it because she could see a dramatic difference in his behavior.  I got the same responses from his teachers at church and his sports coaches. My daughter has been on the honor roll with ease ever since!  I feel amazing.  Until I saw it for myself, I would have never thought that what we eat affected us so much.

Now, this is not to say that I don’t still struggle.  I only recently gave up the red bull (I have not had one since December 31, 2009!), and I still crave Mt. Dew on a hot, sunny day.  But I now understand what I am doing to my body when I decide to give in.  I have to say that nothing tastes as good and being healthy feels!  Now I want to help others realize what it took me so long to see. We really are what we eat!

So that is my story.  I know it’s not some huge inspiring weight loss story, but it is a story of struggle and discovery. And I hope that it does inspire you to make positive changes for your family – you are worth it!

6 thoughts on “My Story

  1. Kasey says:

    trying to get where you are so badly! I fixed fresh grilled chicken salads for dinner last night. Shelby swallowed all greens.carrots, and anything healthy whole lol! Carter threw a fit and didnt eat, and Landy ate every bit because he will eat cardboard at this point. I am determined to stick to it. I already feel better and after working in health care and seeing the vast number of obese people in and out of the ER every day I know this is the way to go. Thanks for your info and encouragement. You are doing a great service.

  2. cindy says:

    Hether

    Mt. Dew is #1 on my weakness list and the convenience of fast food is #2. We really need to make a change but it’s so hard to make the first step. Thanks for this post; it gives me inspiration that it can be done.

Leave a Reply

