Clean Eating Alfredo Sauce

Have you given up some of your favorite meals because of the Alfredo sauce? Here’s a great recipe for a CLEAN version from Tiffany at The Gracious Pantry! The Gracious Pantry is a GREAT resource for those of us on the clean eating or weight loss journey, packed with recipes, motivation, and good information, so make sure you bookmark it!

Clean Eating Alfredo Sauce Recipe

I just have to say, I LOVE cottage cheese.

Now, I should mention that it wasn’t always this way. There was a time when I believed cottage cheese was for nothing more than eating with fruit for dessert when you were trying to stick to a “diet”.

Boy, was I wrong. My eyes have been opened to a whole new world of cottage cheese, and I’m lovin’ it! I mean, I didn’t think I’d ever get to have Fettuccine Alfredo ever again. But you know what? Not only can I still have it, it tastes better than ever!

I’m sooooo not kidding. This sauce is better than ANY sauce I’ve EVERhad in ANY restaurant. You HAVE to try it!

I got the idea from a comment somebody left on the Tosca Reno forum boards. They mentioned making pasta sauce with cottage cheese, and I didn’t even stick around to finish reading the recipe. I just ran with the idea.

The nice part is, you can make it as thick or as runny as you like. Suite yourself! But whatever you do, TRY THIS SAUCE! It’s amazing!

And if you don’t agree, come back here and yell at me. I can take it. But I’d be willing to be you’ll come back and tell me how good it is. I’ll be an entire container of cottage cheese on it!

Clean Eating Alfredo Sauce
(Makes approximately 4 cups)

Recipe updated 8/26/10

Ingredients
4 cups cottage cheese
1/2 cup grated parmesan cheese (The “powdery” kind, but fresh. The Kraft version is not clean.)
1 tbsp. garlic powder (1-2 tsp. if you have to talk to people the next day)
1/4 cup soy milk + some reserve (or any milk you’d like to use)

Directions

Step 1 – Add all ingredients to a pot and turn on the heat. As the mixture begins to warm, blend in the pot with a hand blender. If you don’t have one, warm the ingredients and transfer to a blender.

Step 2 – Blend till smooth, and the continue to warm until it’s nice and hot.

Step 3 – Pour about a half a cup over your pasta and serve.

Eat and Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

