“Everything in Moderation” – Do We Even Know What That Looks Like?

Health & Fitness is not just a job for me – it is my passion!  I love sharing my passion with others. Helping people be the best they can be through clean eating and exercise is what I love! I post a lot of information through social media, and I try to support and encourage anyone who asks for my help.  And as much as I love all of you, my true passion is my own family!  I want them to know what being healthy looks like.  I want to teach them what moderation really looks like. I want to give them the absolute best nutritional foundation I can, so that they can go into adulthood without struggling with diet related issues.

I recently posted a facebook/twitter status expressing frustration over seeing my son with a cupcake in the school pick up line. Boy did that get a reaction!  lol  I got good feedback, and bad feedback, both in person and online. I’m used to this, and it’s ok.  People are passionate (as I am), and love to express their opinions (as I do). But it does always strike me funny when people make a point to try to discredit my parenting choice. My favorite, and most frequent, comment that I get EVERY time I post something like this is “it’s just a cupcake.  everything in moderation. let them be kids.”  Why it strikes me as funny is because I AGREE with these people…

Of course I know that it’s ok to have treats once in while, and we do!  As adults, we are mature enough, have enough knowledge, and power to moderate our food choices. No one is dictating what we eat. BUT for kids, it’s NEVER “just a cupcake”. Everywhere we turn our kids are being “treated” and “rewarded” with food/candy.  How are they supposed to know what moderation looks like if we give them crap everyday, or even multiple times a day?! They get treats for birthday parties, and for being good at school, and for participating at church, and from the teller at the bank, and at other people’s houses, and for every holiday, etc…In fact, my son had just been to a birthday party a few days before and enjoyed a cupcake. That’s great!  That’s an acceptable time for a treat – Happy Birthday friend!  But, when this so-called moderation is treats all day every day, it is then in no way “just a cupcake”.

I want my kids to learn moderation, not America’s view of moderation, but REAL moderation. And this has NOTHING to do with weight.  It’s not about fat or skinny – it’s about health. Not just health as children, but a lifetime of health because of our “backwards” way we view food and exercise. Of course, one cupcake is not going to adversely effect my child’s health 10 years from now.  However, having treats at every turn will most definitely effect them later in life.  Diabetes, high blood pressure, heart disease, obesity, migraines, sleep apnea, etc are not what I want for my children, and thankfully I have the honor of being their mother.  And I plan to do all that I can to teach them the right way to take care of their bodies. I don’t want to see them struggle with things that I could have helped prevent.

Sadly some people think I look down on them for not having my same views. Those people just simply don’t know me very well at all.  I don’t expect everyone to be like me. I don’t post things directed at certain people, I don’t engage the people who are always trying to push my buttons, I don’t give unsolicited advice, and I certainly don’t judge others choices.  I do LOVE to educate other’s on nutrition, but only if they’ve come to me for help. I do what I think is best for my family, and I don’t mind if you disagree with me.  (After all, my kids are not you’re responsibility, they’re mine.)  Even as I post this, I know that some will post negative comments, and that’s ok – We can still be friends. 🙂

4 thoughts on ““Everything in Moderation” – Do We Even Know What That Looks Like?

  1. Cory Chapman says:

    As somebody who is indeed a sugar addict, and who struggles with weight as a result of that addiction, I so agree with your choices. We often hear inane, simplified phrases like “sweet tooth” to describe the desire for sugary foods. Unfortunately such terms downplay the seriously addictive quality of sugar, which some studies reveal to have higher propensity for addiction thanillicit drugs such as cocaine. And synthetic artificial sweeteners are chemically manufactured, posing a whole other set of health dangers.

    I think having such a tremendous commitment to your family’s health and well being — and that of your clients, friends, and anybody willing to listen and learn — is incredibly admirable. Please keep up the good work, detractors and all.

  2. Lisa says:

    Very well said. Everyone should respect each other and their choices. With that being said, you know if you ever want to put boundaries on what your son eats while with us is ok. I’ll respect that but know that I also try to give better options for them to choose from. I admit though… I’ll be the first to allow a desert in moderation when the boys are out together. 🙂

Leave a Reply

